Halloween 2026 Georgia ghost tours: 20 tours in Savannah, Atlanta and Augusta, with prices and ages → 🏈 Game week: Georgia vs. Florida in Atlanta, Sat., Oct. 31 – MARTA, parking, bag rules →
Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. Living in GA
  3. Relocation
Relocation

Retire to Georgia: Tax Rules for Retirees

What Georgia's tax rules mean for retirees: the retirement income exclusion, Social Security, senior homestead exemptions, license and tag basics.

By Hank Whitlock·Updated ·5 min read
Aerial view of a suburban neighborhood of single-family homes around a small roundabout (illustrative photo, a Southwest suburb, not Georgia).

Short answer

Georgia’s retirement income exclusion is $35,000 for ages 62 to 64 and $65,000 for age 65 and up, per the Georgia Department of Revenue.

This page covers state tax and new-resident paperwork only, from state agency pages; it gives no health, insurance or financial advice. Every fact below was read on the cited official page and checked ; anything we could not read is listed under What We Could Not Confirm instead of guessed.

What to knowSource
Georgia’s 2025 IT-511 instructions booklet sets the maximum retirement income exclusion at $35,000 for taxpayers aged 62 to 64 (or under 62 and permanently disabled so they cannot perform any type of gainful employment), and $65,000 for taxpayers 65 or older.dor.georgia.gov
The booklet says the exclusion is available to the taxpayer and spouse, but each must qualify on a separate basis; if both qualify, each spouse may claim the amounts.dor.georgia.gov
Georgia DOR says taxable Social Security and Railroad Retirement on the federal return are exempt from Georgia income tax; the taxable portion is subtracted on Schedule 1 of Form 500.dor.georgia.gov
Georgia homeowners age 65 or over may claim a $4,000 exemption from all county ad valorem taxes if their and their spouse’s income did not exceed $10,000 for the prior year (retirement, pension and disability income is excluded up to the federal Social Security maximum, listed as $96,432 for 2025).dor.georgia.gov
Quick answers, each tied to the page it was read on.

Retirement Income Exclusion

  • Source document: 2025 IT-511 Instructions Booklet (tax year 2025), Subtractions item 1, Retirement income. (dor.georgia.gov)
  • $35,000 maximum for ages 62 to 64, or under 62 and permanently disabled to the extent unable to perform any type of gainful employment. (dor.georgia.gov)
  • $65,000 maximum for age 65 or older. (dor.georgia.gov)
  • Income from jointly owned property is allocated to each taxpayer at 50% of the total value. (dor.georgia.gov)
  • Social Security and Railroad Retirement paid by the Railroad Retirement Board, exempt interest, or other income not taxable to Georgia should not be included in the retirement income exclusion calculation. (dor.georgia.gov)
  • Part-year residents and nonresidents must prorate the retirement income exclusion. (dor.georgia.gov)
  • Military retirement: $17,500 of military retirement income can be excluded for taxpayers under 62, and an additional $17,500 for taxpayers with more than $17,500 of earned income in Georgia (beginning January 1, 2022). (dor.georgia.gov)
  • DOR’s retirement income exclusion page does not state a fixed cap for the general exclusion; it points to the current IT-511 instructions. It says taxpayers 62 or older, or permanently and totally disabled regardless of age, may be eligible. (dor.georgia.gov)
  • DOR’s 2025 HB 1000 surplus refund FAQ repeats: up to $35,000 for ages 62 to 64 and up to $65,000 for Georgians 65 and over. (dor.georgia.gov)

Social Security

  • Taxable Social Security and Railroad Retirement on the federal return are exempt from Georgia income tax. Subtract the taxable portion on Schedule 1 of Form 500. (dor.georgia.gov)

Homestead Exemptions for Older Homeowners

  • Age 65 or over: $4,000 exemption from all county ad valorem taxes if income of the person and spouse does not exceed $10,000 for the prior year. The owner must notify the county tax commissioner if they no longer meet the requirements. (dor.georgia.gov)
  • Age 62 or over: additional exemption from all ad valorem taxes for educational purposes, same $10,000 combined income limit, not to exceed $10,000 of the homestead’s assessed value. (dor.georgia.gov)
  • Age 62 or over floating inflation-proof exemption: applies only if the home’s appraised value has increased by more than $10,000; income with spouse or any other resident cannot exceed $30,000; it does not affect municipal or school taxes and replaces other county homestead exemptions rather than stacking. (dor.georgia.gov)
  • Apply with the Application for Homestead Exemption at the county tax commissioner’s office (in some counties the tax assessor’s office). Deadline is the property tax return deadline of April 1; the page also says late applications may be accepted through the 45-day assessment-appeal window. (dor.georgia.gov)

Driver's License for New Residents

  • Apply for a Georgia driver’s license within 30 days of becoming a Georgia resident, and surrender your out-of-state license. (dds.georgia.gov)
  • Present documents verifying identity, residential address, and U.S. citizenship or lawful presence. Residency needs two documents from separate sources or separate accounts. Full Social Security Number goes on the online License/ID/Permit Form. (dds.georgia.gov)
  • If the license is valid or expired no more than 2 years: no written knowledge test or road test, but a vision exam. Expired more than 2 years: written knowledge, road, and vision exams. (dds.georgia.gov)
  • All Customer Service Centers can transfer an out-of-state license. (dds.georgia.gov)

Vehicle Tag and Registration for New Residents

  • DDS does not handle tags or registration; Georgia DOR Motor Vehicle Division does. (dds.georgia.gov)
  • Vehicles must be registered within 30 days from the date you moved to Georgia, in person at the County Tag Office. (dor.georgia.gov)
  • Bring: a valid Georgia driver’s license or ID, a signed MV-1 Title/Tag Application, proof of ownership (original out-of-state title or registration from a non-title state), Form T-17 if the vehicle has a loan or lease, an emissions inspection if you live in a listed metro county, and proof of Georgia liability insurance. (dor.georgia.gov)
  • Yearly registration fee $20; title fee $18. (dor.georgia.gov)

Keep Planning

FAQ

Does Georgia tax Social Security income?

Georgia DOR says taxable Social Security and Railroad Retirement on the federal return are exempt from Georgia income tax; subtract the taxable portion on Schedule 1 of Form 500. (dor.georgia.gov)

How much retirement income can I exclude in Georgia?

Per the 2025 IT-511 booklet: up to $35,000 at ages 62 to 64 and up to $65,000 at 65 or older, per qualifying taxpayer. (dor.georgia.gov)

How soon must I get a Georgia license after moving?

Within 30 days of becoming a Georgia resident. (dds.georgia.gov)

How soon must I register my vehicle after moving?

Within 30 days from the date you moved to Georgia, at the County Tag Office. (dor.georgia.gov)

What We Could Not Confirm

  • Census age 65+ share for the 5 largest metros: api.census.gov ACS 5-year profile requests timed out or did not load; census.gov QuickFacts did not load; data.census.gov profile pages did not give usable detail. No metro 65+ figure was read from a fetched page. Do not publish any.
  • TAVT rate conflict: dor.georgia.gov/…/new-georgia says 3% of fair market value; dor.georgia.gov/…/vehicle-taxes-title-ad-valorem-tax-tavt-and says 7.0%. Not stated on the page; omit the rate or send readers to the DOR estimator.
  • DDS fee amounts for license transfer: page says ‘pay appropriate fees’ and refers to dds.georgia.gov/fees-and-terms, which was not fetched.
  • dor.georgia.gov/homestead-exemption did not load; the working page is /property-tax-homestead-exemptions. Local county add-on senior exemptions vary and were not read.
  • The $5,000 earned-income allowance within the retirement exclusion is cut off in the extracted booklet text; not published here.
  • Census age 65 and over shares for the largest metros could not be read from an official page and are not shown.
  • Where the Georgia Department of Revenue pages disagreed on the vehicle tax rate we left the rate out and point readers to the department’s own estimator.

How we checked this guide: Dates, hours, admission and parking prices, and access details were verified against the official sources listed below on . Operators change schedules and raise prices without notice, so confirm anything time-sensitive before you drive. The figures in this guide also feed our Georgia Attraction Transparency Index and Family Day-Out Cost Index.

Sources

About Hank Whitlock

Hank Whitlock is the pen name of the It's Georgia editor. Every guide is built around the questions a busy family actually asks before a trip: how long is the drive, what does parking cost, can the stroller make it, are dogs allowed. Details are checked against official park, city, and venue sources, and each guide shows the date it was last updated.

Cite this page: It's Georgia, “Retire to Georgia: Tax Rules for Retirees”, itsgeorgia.com/living/relocation/retire-to-georgia/ (updated ). Free to quote with attribution and a link to this page.