6 day trips from Columbus, with hours and admission from each park or site’s official page. Parking at Georgia state parks is $10 per vehicle; an annual ParkPass is $70; passes are not valid at state historic sites, which charge separate admission.
We list no drive times or miles because no official page prints them; check a map for your day. Every fact below was read on the cited official page and checked ; anything we could not read is listed under What We Could Not Confirm instead of guessed.
| What to know | Source |
|---|---|
| Parking at Georgia state parks is $10 per vehicle; an annual ParkPass is $70; passes are not valid at state historic sites, which charge separate admission. | gastateparks.org |
| State park pets must be on a leash no longer than six feet and are not allowed in buildings, swimming areas or beaches. | gastateparks.org |
| Roosevelt’s Little White House: adults $13.00, seniors $9.75, youth $7.50, under 6 free (plus tax); historic area closed for renovation. | gastateparks.org |
The Day Trips
| Name | Town | What it is | Details |
|---|---|---|---|
| Providence Canyon State Park (Official site) | Lumpkin | Hike the canyon and rim trails, picnic, backpack and camp. | Cost: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70) Hours: Park Sept 15-Apr 14 7 a.m.-6 p.m.; Apr 15-Sept 14 7 a.m.-9 p.m.; visitor center 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Access: Overlook partially accessible (100 yards); day-use restrooms available Dogs: Dogs are welcome on trails and must remain on 6-foot leash Parking: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70) Kids: Playground |
| F.D. Roosevelt State Park (Official site) | Pine Mountain | 43 miles of trails including the Pine Mountain Trail, horseback riding, boating, fishing, seasonal swimming and Dowdell’s Knob. | Cost: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70) Hours: Park 7 a.m.-10 p.m.; office 8 a.m.-5 p.m.; Dowdell’s Knob April-September 8 a.m.-8 p.m., October-March 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Season: Swimming pool seasonal (hours and 2026 dates not stated) Dogs: Per park rules: leashed, leash no longer than six feet; not allowed in state park and historic site buildings, swimming areas, beaches (gastateparks.org/ParkRules) Parking: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70) Kids: Playground, Liberty Bell Swimming Pool (seasonal), field trips, birthday parties |
| Roosevelt’s Little White House State Historic Site (Official site) | Warm Springs | Museum with the Unfinished Portrait and FDR’s 1938 Ford convertible, Walk of Flags and Stones, and picnic areas; historic area closed for renovation. | Cost: Adults (18-61) $13.00; seniors (62+) $9.75; youth (6-17) $7.50; under 6 free; guided tour $20.00 (plus tax) Hours: 9 a.m.-4:45 p.m., last ticket 4:30 p.m.; closed Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s Day Season: Historic area (Little White House, servant quarters, guest house) temporarily closed for renovation; museum and grounds open; ranger-led tours Sat/Sun 10 a.m., reservations required Access: Historic area paths paved pebble stone; free motorized carts for persons with disabilities Dogs: Leashed pets allowed on historic site trails, not in buildings Kids: Under 6 free; scavenger hunts and school field trip booklet |
| Florence Marina State Park (Official site) | Omaha | Boating, fishing, birding, miniature golf and walking, with a lighted fishing pier and the Kirbo Interpretive Center. | Cost: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70) Hours: Park 7 a.m.-10 p.m.; office 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Dogs: Per park rules: leashed, leash no longer than six feet; not allowed in state park and historic site buildings, swimming areas, beaches (gastateparks.org/ParkRules) Parking: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70) Kids: Playground |
| Pasaquan | Buena Vista | 7-acre visionary art environment built by Eddie Owens Martin, known as St. EOM. | Cost: Suggested contribution: adults $10, seniors $5, students $3 Hours: Friday-Sunday 10 a.m.-5 p.m.; closed federal and bank holidays Season: Closed December and July; PASAFEST 2026 is linked but no dates given |
| Andersonville National Historic Site | Andersonville | Visit the National Prisoner of War Museum, the historic prison site and Andersonville National Cemetery. | Cost: Free; the page states the park is always free (nps.gov/ande/planyourvisit/fees.htm) Hours: Museum 9:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. daily; park grounds 8 a.m.-5 p.m. daily; National Cemetery 8 a.m.-5 p.m. every day; closed Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s Day (cemetery open via Cemetery Entrance Gate) Kids: Page says most visitors spend at least two hours in the park |
Map of Day Trips From Columbus
Not pinned (no confirmed location yet): Roosevelt's Little White House State Historic Site (Official site).
Keep Planning
FAQ
Are dogs allowed at Providence Canyon?
The park page says dogs are welcome on trails and must remain on a 6-foot leash. (gastateparks.org)
What We Could Not Confirm
- Distances and drive times from the city: deliberately not stated; no official page fetched prints them for these routes.
- Region assignments (the region field) are the compiler’s mapping of county to guide region, not from a source; verify.
- Georgia state park pages give ‘Fee required’ but not the dollar amount; the $10 daily / $70 annual figures come from gastateparks.org/ParkPass. Park pages do not state dog rules; the general rule is on gastateparks.org/ParkRules.
- Park-specific trail accessibility is not described on park pages; only the gastateparks.org/Accessibility/Facilities listing was used.
- 2026 seasonal dates and special events: not published on the fetched pages unless noted in the season field.
- Callaway Resort and Gardens (callawaygardens.com): page did not load, so hours and admission are unconfirmed and it is not included.
- Kolomoki Mounds, Historic Westville (search result suggested it may be closed), Chattahoochee-area items: not included; Westville not confirmed from an official page.
- Only 6 items are supported; Columbus has fewer fetched official sources.
- The region of each entry is our own county-to-region mapping, not stated on the cited page.
How we checked this guide: Dates, hours, admission and parking prices, and access details were verified against the official sources listed below on . Operators change schedules and raise prices without notice, so confirm anything time-sensitive before you drive. The figures in this guide also feed our Georgia Attraction Transparency Index and Family Day-Out Cost Index.
Sources
Cite this page: It's Georgia, “Day Trips From Columbus, GA”, itsgeorgia.com/destinations/west-georgia/day-trips-from-columbus/ (updated ). Free to quote with attribution and a link to this page.



