Halloween 2026 Georgia ghost tours: 20 tours in Savannah, Atlanta and Augusta, with prices and ages → 🏈 Game week: Georgia vs. Florida in Atlanta, Sat., Oct. 31 – MARTA, parking, bag rules →
Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. Destinations
  3. Historic Heartland
Historic Heartland

Day Trips From Athens, GA

Places within a day's reach of Athens with hours and admission from each official page. No drive times, because no page states them.

By Hank Whitlock·Updated ·6 min read
The South Fork Broad River shoals at Watson Mill Bridge State Park

8 day trips from Athens, with hours and admission from each park or site’s official page. Parking at Georgia state parks is $10 per vehicle; an annual ParkPass is $70; passes are not valid at state historic sites, which charge separate admission.

We list no drive times or miles because no official page prints them; check a map for your day. Every fact below was read on the cited official page and checked ; anything we could not read is listed under What We Could Not Confirm instead of guessed.

What to knowSource
Parking at Georgia state parks is $10 per vehicle; an annual ParkPass is $70; passes are not valid at state historic sites, which charge separate admission.gastateparks.org
State park pets must be on a leash no longer than six feet and are not allowed in buildings, swimming areas or beaches.gastateparks.org
Watson Mill Bridge’s covered bridge is described as Georgia’s longest covered bridge still in use, 229 feet over the South Fork River.gastateparks.org
Quick answers, each tied to the page it was read on.

The Day Trips

NameTownWhat it isDetails
Watson Mill Bridge State Park (Official site)ComerGeorgia’s longest covered bridge still in use (229 feet over the South Fork River, built 1885), hiking, biking, horseback riding and fishing.Cost: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70)
Hours: Park 7 a.m.-10 p.m.; office 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Season: Canoe and kayak rental seasonal; page says currently unavailable
Access: 7 miles hiking, 5 miles biking, 14 miles horseback (trail fee); Visitor Center and group shelter partially accessible
Dogs: Per park rules: leashed, leash no longer than six feet; not allowed in state park and historic site buildings, swimming areas, beaches (gastateparks.org/ParkRules)
Parking: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70)
Kids: Playground; field trips
Hard Labor Creek State Park (Official site)RutledgeMore than 24 miles of trails, off-road biking, fishing, horseback riding, seasonal swimming and golf at The Creek Golf Course.Cost: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70)
Hours: Park 7 a.m.-10 p.m.; office 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Season: Swimming, paddling rentals seasonal (2026 dates not published)
Access: All-Terrain Georgia Action Trackchair available; accessible kayak access
Dogs: Per park rules: leashed, leash no longer than six feet; not allowed in state park and historic site buildings, swimming areas, beaches (gastateparks.org/ParkRules)
Parking: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70)
Kids: Playground, seasonal sand beach, field trips
Fort Yargo State Park (Official site)Winder260-acre lake with a swimming beach, 20.5 miles of trails, disc golf, miniature golf and pickleball.Cost: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70); pickleball court $5 per set
Hours: Park 7 a.m.-10 p.m.; office 8 a.m.-5 p.m.; beach 9 a.m.-sunset
Access: Wilkins Greenway Trail cement, 1.2 miles one-way; All-Terrain Georgia Action Trackchair
Dogs: Per park rules: leashed, leash no longer than six feet; not allowed in state park and historic site buildings, swimming areas, beaches (gastateparks.org/ParkRules)
Parking: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70)
Kids: Playground; field trips
Tallulah Gorge State Park (Official site)Tallulah Falls20 miles of trails with rim overlooks and a gorge-floor hike, two suspension bridges, rock climbing and seasonal swimming.Cost: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70)
Hours: Park 8 a.m. to dark; office 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Season: Terrora Day Use Area beach closed for construction; kayaking unavailable until complete
Access: Gorge-floor trail very strenuous with about 1,000 stairs; paved railroad-bed path suits strollers and bicycles; gorge floor requires a free permit issued the day of the visit (limit 100 per day)
Dogs: Pets not allowed on the gorge floor, sliding rock trail or Hurricane Falls staircase; leashed pets welcome on rim trails
Parking: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70)
Kids: Two playgrounds; gorge floor trail not recommended for children 8 and under
Traveler’s Rest State Historic Site (Official site)ToccoaTour the inn and plantation buildings with original furnishings.Cost: Adults (18-61) $5.50; seniors (62+) $4.25; youth (6-17) $3.50; children under 6 $1.25 (plus tax)
Hours: Saturday-Sunday 9 a.m.-5 p.m.; closed Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s Day
Access: Partial areas of 1st floor accessible
Dogs: Leashed pets allowed on historic site trails, not in buildings
Kids: Youth and child rates
A.H. Stephens State Park and Historic Site (Official site)CrawfordvilleEquestrian facilities, boating, fishing, hiking, a Civil War museum and Liberty Hall historic site.Cost: Historic site: adults (18-61) $8.00, seniors (62+) $6.00, youth (6-17) $5.00, child under 6 $2.00; park parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per ParkPass page, not valid at state historic sites)
Hours: Park 7 a.m.-10 p.m.; office 8 a.m.-5 p.m.; Historic Site Friday-Sunday 9 a.m.-5 p.m., last tour 3:30 p.m.
Access: Sunset Drive trail paved, 1 mile; Liberty Hall and historic site restrooms partial (gastateparks.org/Accessibility/Facilities)
Dogs: Per park rules: leashed, leash no longer than six feet; not allowed in state park and historic site buildings, swimming areas, beaches (gastateparks.org/ParkRules)
Parking: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70)
Kids: Playground; youth admission rates; field trips
Robert Toombs House State Historic Site (Official site)WashingtonTour the house and grounds, museum exhibits and picnic area; managed by Wilkes County.Cost: Self-guided tour (13 and up) $8; guided tour (13 and up) $10; ages 5-12 $6; up to 4 people free; cash or check only
Hours: Thursday-Saturday 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; closed Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s Day
Access: First floor of the historic home is accessible, with bathrooms on the first floor
Dogs: Leashed pets allowed on historic site trails, not in buildings
Kids: Ages 5-12 $6; up to 4 free; educational programs
Madison-Morgan County Welcome Center and historic districtMadisonVisitor center at 115 East Jefferson Street with maps and a walking tour brochure for the historic district.Cost: Free parking listed
Hours: Monday-Friday 9 a.m.-5 p.m.; Saturday 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sunday 11:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
8 entries; blank facts were not published on the cited page.

Map of Day Trips From Athens

4 of 8 places are pinned. Tap a pin for the page and directions. Dashed pins were placed from the street address we printed and are approximate. © OpenStreetMap contributors. Confirm the spot on the official page before you drive.

Not pinned (no confirmed location yet): Traveler's Rest State Historic Site (Official site), A.H. Stephens State Park and Historic Site (Official site), Robert Toombs House State Historic Site (Official site), Madison-Morgan County Welcome Center and historic district.

Keep Planning

FAQ

Do I need a permit for the Tallulah Gorge floor?

The park page says gorge-floor access requires a free permit issued the day of the visit at the Interpretive Center; limited to 100 per day and not reservable. (gastateparks.org)

What We Could Not Confirm

  • Distances and drive times from the city: deliberately not stated; no official page fetched prints them for these routes.
  • Region assignments (the region field) are the compiler’s mapping of county to guide region, not from a source; verify.
  • Georgia state park pages give ‘Fee required’ but not the dollar amount; the $10 daily / $70 annual figures come from gastateparks.org/ParkPass. Park pages do not state dog rules; the general rule is on gastateparks.org/ParkRules.
  • Park-specific trail accessibility is not described on park pages; only the gastateparks.org/Accessibility/Facilities listing was used.
  • 2026 seasonal dates and special events: not published on the fetched pages unless noted in the season field.
  • Callaway Resort and Gardens (callawaygardens.com): page did not load, so hours and admission are unconfirmed and it is not included.
  • Crawford W. Long Museum (Jefferson) left out because its subject is medical.
  • Hart State Park page says it is now managed by the City of Hartwell and may be outdated; not included.
  • Madison walking-tour length not confirmed on fetched pages.
  • The region of each entry is our own county-to-region mapping, not stated on the cited page.

How we checked this guide: Dates, hours, admission and parking prices, and access details were verified against the official sources listed below on . Operators change schedules and raise prices without notice, so confirm anything time-sensitive before you drive. The figures in this guide also feed our Georgia Attraction Transparency Index and Family Day-Out Cost Index.

Sources

About Hank Whitlock

Hank Whitlock is the pen name of the It's Georgia editor. Every guide is built around the questions a busy family actually asks before a trip: how long is the drive, what does parking cost, can the stroller make it, are dogs allowed. Details are checked against official park, city, and venue sources, and each guide shows the date it was last updated.

Cite this page: It's Georgia, “Day Trips From Athens, GA”, itsgeorgia.com/destinations/historic-heartland/day-trips-from-athens/ (updated ). Free to quote with attribution and a link to this page.