Halloween 2026 Georgia ghost tours: 20 tours in Savannah, Atlanta and Augusta, with prices and ages → 🏈 Game week: Georgia vs. Florida in Atlanta, Sat., Oct. 31 – MARTA, parking, bag rules →
Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. Destinations
  3. East Georgia
East Georgia

Day Trips From Augusta, GA

Places within a day's reach of Augusta with hours and admission from each official page. No drive times, because no page states them.

By Hank Whitlock·Updated ·6 min read

8 day trips from Augusta, with hours and admission from each park or site’s official page. Parking at Georgia state parks is $10 per vehicle; an annual ParkPass is $70; passes are not valid at state historic sites, which charge separate admission.

We list no drive times or miles because no official page prints them; check a map for your day. Every fact below was read on the cited official page and checked ; anything we could not read is listed under What We Could Not Confirm instead of guessed.

What to knowSource
Parking at Georgia state parks is $10 per vehicle; an annual ParkPass is $70; passes are not valid at state historic sites, which charge separate admission.gastateparks.org
State park pets must be on a leash no longer than six feet and are not allowed in buildings, swimming areas or beaches.gastateparks.org
Robert Toombs House State Historic Site in Washington is open Thursday through Saturday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.gastateparks.org
Quick answers, each tied to the page it was read on.

The Day Trips

NameTownWhat it isDetails
Mistletoe State Park (Official site)ApplingFishing and boating on Clarks Hill Lake, a seasonal sand beach, hiking, biking and birding.Cost: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70)
Hours: Park 7 a.m.-10 p.m.; office 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Access: Page notes all trails closed except Cliatt Creek, Rock Dam and Cottage Trails; GRIT Freedom Chair reservations offered
Dogs: Per park rules: leashed, leash no longer than six feet; not allowed in state park and historic site buildings, swimming areas, beaches (gastateparks.org/ParkRules)
Parking: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70)
Kids: Playground; educational programs listed
Elijah Clark State Park (Official site)LincolntonBoating, paddling, fishing, hiking, miniature golf and picnicking on the lake; a Log Cabin Museum is open weekends April through November.Cost: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70)
Hours: Park 7 a.m.-10 p.m.; office 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Season: Log Cabin Museum open weekends April through November (page does not give 2026 dates); swimming area not accessible due to low water, beach area open
Dogs: Per park rules: leashed, leash no longer than six feet; not allowed in state park and historic site buildings, swimming areas, beaches (gastateparks.org/ParkRules)
Parking: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70)
Kids: Playground, miniature golf, corn hole
Magnolia Springs State Park (Official site)MillenBoardwalk over the spring with alligators and turtles, fishing, hiking, picnicking, a history center and a seasonal splash pad.Cost: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70)
Hours: Park 7 a.m.-10 p.m.; office 8 a.m.-5 p.m.; splash pad Friday-Sunday 10 a.m.-6 p.m.
Season: Splash pad is seasonal (dates not published for 2026); lake closed to rentals and personal vessels due to low water per the page
Access: Boardwalk is wood, 0.25 mile (gastateparks.org/Accessibility/Facilities)
Dogs: Per park rules: leashed, leash no longer than six feet; not allowed in state park and historic site buildings, swimming areas, beaches (gastateparks.org/ParkRules)
Parking: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70)
Kids: 2 playgrounds, seasonal splash pad, field trips
Hamburg State Park (Official site)MitchellCamping, fishing, boating, hiking, biking and picnicking; a 1921 gristmill and museum open during events.Cost: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70)
Hours: Park 7 a.m.-10 p.m.; office 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Mar 15-Dec 1 (9 a.m.-5 p.m. Dec 1-Mar 14), closed 12-1
Season: Gristmill and museum open during events (dates not published for 2026); page says phones are down, call A.H. Stephens State Park at 706-456-2602
Dogs: Per park rules: leashed, leash no longer than six feet; not allowed in state park and historic site buildings, swimming areas, beaches (gastateparks.org/ParkRules)
Parking: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70)
Kids: Playground
Robert Toombs House State Historic Site (Official site)WashingtonTour the house and grounds, museum exhibits and picnic area; managed by Wilkes County.Cost: Self-guided tour (13 and up) $8; guided tour (13 and up) $10; ages 5-12 $6; up to 4 people free; cash or check only
Hours: Thursday-Saturday 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; closed Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s Day
Access: First floor of the historic home is accessible, with bathrooms on the first floor
Dogs: Leashed pets allowed on historic site trails, not in buildings
Kids: Ages 5-12 $6; up to 4 free; educational programs
A.H. Stephens State Park and Historic Site (Official site)CrawfordvilleEquestrian facilities, boating, fishing, hiking, a Civil War museum and Liberty Hall historic site.Cost: Historic site: adults (18-61) $8.00, seniors (62+) $6.00, youth (6-17) $5.00, child under 6 $2.00; park parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per ParkPass page, not valid at state historic sites)
Hours: Park 7 a.m.-10 p.m.; office 8 a.m.-5 p.m.; Historic Site Friday-Sunday 9 a.m.-5 p.m., last tour 3:30 p.m.
Access: Sunset Drive trail paved, 1 mile; Liberty Hall and historic site restrooms partial (gastateparks.org/Accessibility/Facilities)
Dogs: Per park rules: leashed, leash no longer than six feet; not allowed in state park and historic site buildings, swimming areas, beaches (gastateparks.org/ParkRules)
Parking: Parking fee required ($10 per vehicle per the ParkPass page; annual ParkPass $70)
Kids: Playground; youth admission rates; field trips
Savannah Rapids ParkColumbia County33-acre park along the Augusta Canal and Reed Creek waterfall; the Augusta Canal Trail starts here and the Lockkeeper’s Cottage has a visitor center.Hours: Visitor center (Lockkeeper’s Cottage) Monday-Saturday 10 a.m.-4 p.m.
Season: Pavilion under renovation; no reservations until construction is completed (page estimates summer 2027)
Access: Canal trail described as runnable or bikeable; no accessibility details
Washington-Wilkes historic sitesWashingtonTown with the Robert Toombs House State Historic Site, Mary Willis Library, Washington Historical Museum and Kettle Creek Battlefield, listed by the Washington-Wilkes Chamber of Commerce.Season: Spring Tour of Homes and Christmas Tour of Homes are annual (2026 dates not on the page)
8 entries; blank facts were not published on the cited page.

Map of Day Trips From Augusta

5 of 8 places are pinned. Tap a pin for the page and directions. Dashed pins were placed from the street address we printed and are approximate. © OpenStreetMap contributors. Confirm the spot on the official page before you drive.

Not pinned (no confirmed location yet): Robert Toombs House State Historic Site (Official site), A.H. Stephens State Park and Historic Site (Official site), Washington-Wilkes historic sites.

Keep Planning

FAQ

How much is parking at Georgia state parks?

$10 per vehicle, or $70 for an annual ParkPass, per the Georgia State Parks ParkPass page. (gastateparks.org)

What We Could Not Confirm

  • Distances and drive times from the city: deliberately not stated; no official page fetched prints them for these routes.
  • Region assignments (the region field) are the compiler’s mapping of county to guide region, not from a source; verify.
  • Georgia state park pages give ‘Fee required’ but not the dollar amount; the $10 daily / $70 annual figures come from gastateparks.org/ParkPass. Park pages do not state dog rules; the general rule is on gastateparks.org/ParkRules.
  • Park-specific trail accessibility is not described on park pages; only the gastateparks.org/Accessibility/Facilities listing was used.
  • 2026 seasonal dates and special events: not published on the fetched pages unless noted in the season field.
  • Callaway Resort and Gardens (callawaygardens.com): page did not load, so hours and admission are unconfirmed and it is not included.
  • Bobby Brown State Park: gastateparks.org page did not load so it was not included.
  • Wildwood Park (Columbia County): no official county page with hours and fees fetched; not included.
  • Savannah Rapids Park page does not state park hours, fees or dog rules; Washington-Wilkes chamber page lists no hours or admission.
  • The region of each entry is our own county-to-region mapping, not stated on the cited page.

How we checked this guide: Dates, hours, admission and parking prices, and access details were verified against the official sources listed below on . Operators change schedules and raise prices without notice, so confirm anything time-sensitive before you drive. The figures in this guide also feed our Georgia Attraction Transparency Index and Family Day-Out Cost Index.

Sources

About Hank Whitlock

Hank Whitlock is the pen name of the It's Georgia editor. Every guide is built around the questions a busy family actually asks before a trip: how long is the drive, what does parking cost, can the stroller make it, are dogs allowed. Details are checked against official park, city, and venue sources, and each guide shows the date it was last updated.

Cite this page: It's Georgia, “Day Trips From Augusta, GA”, itsgeorgia.com/destinations/east-georgia/day-trips-from-augusta/ (updated ). Free to quote with attribution and a link to this page.